I’ve been framed!!

Reclining Figure

Reclining Figure

Here is a drawing of a reclining figure that I did last semester, that mom really liked and had professionally framed. I liked it well enough before, but now — wow! A high quality frame like this makes a huge difference. Victoriano Gelay, the owner of Neilsen Framing, selected a suede mat in the same color of the paper (this was a tricky choice, because the drawing is very subtle and could easily be overwhelmed). Then he cut the mat in an arch to highlight the shape of the drawing, and lined the edge with sewn piping in a metalic pewter. The relief of the custom cut frame picks up both the shadows, and the highlights.

Thanks mom! I know just where we should hang it (and how to redecorate that room now). 🙂

2 responses to “I’ve been framed!!

  1. Too late now, but I hope you signed it.

  2. As Brian Eno would say, its more interesting than my shoes!

    Want proof?

    “But it’s funny, it’s like if you put something in a frame and hang it in an art gallery, people will think it’s a painting. And they’ll reserve a special kind of attention for that, which they don’t give to computer screens or to their shoes or whatever.”

    -Brian Eno

Leave a comment